Maremma Map

Maremma is a major historical and geographical territory shared by Tuscany and Lazio. The boundaries are roughly and historically defined as the coastal territory extending from the south of Livorno in Tuscany to the northern section of Lazio in the province of Viterbo.

It is divided into 3 main areas:

  • the northern Tuscan Maremma = Alta Maremma
  • the southern Tuscan Maremma = Maremma Grossetana
  • the Maremma Laziale

The first part of the 20th century saw the drainage and reclamation of these swampy areas.

It is to be noted that the Southern Maremma is also called Maremma Grossetana and can be simply abbreviated as Maremma.

Follow me on my Social Media

Wine is a gourmet treasure, do not abuse alcohol!

None of this content has been sponsored

I did not receive any gifts or free samples that could be related to this article

Categories: Q & A